Doctor, Doctor: Gimme the News

So we’ve (not-so) patiently waited these past weeks to get ourselves and our week 6 sweet pea in with the good doctor and today’s the day.

I’m not entirely sure why we feel so dependent on his saying so to finally let out a deep breath and admit that holy cow, we ARE pregnant.  Maybe we just like the guy (we do).  Maybe we just want to hear all’s okay.  Really we’re looking for the man to take one peek inside and immediately declare, “yes ma’am,” “heck of a uterus!”  This is the kind of official confirmation we’d like to get.

That and the ultrasound for which we’re prepared to plead.  They could very well take pity on our previous miscarried selves.  Or just as easily label us ultrasound whores.  But who would not, I ask, beg to let them see the lubs and dubs of their child’s human heart?  Keeping fingers crossed…

3 Comments

  1. Salty said,

    Monday, August 4, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Patience, Mom Quixote-san!

    I know how tricky those first few weeks are. It’s hard to wait them out. But I’ll tell you that it might not get any easier as time goes on. Pregnancy and then parenthood can be one big worry fest. The sooner you master zen and the art of pregnancy freakouts, the better!

    That being said, I hope you have a wonderful appointment today! My fingers are crossed too!

  2. Tara said,

    Monday, August 4, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    We had our first appointment today too. Major disappointment. Part of it was that it turns out the ultrasound won’t be till Friday. But I also realized later — they never even asked how I was feeling! Just handed me a packet of info, talked a bit about genetic testing, and did a workup. I’m starting to suspect that my REAL doctor, for all those little questions and explanations, will be “What to Expect When You’re Expecting.”

    Hope yours was a better experience, though!!

  3. Donna said,

    Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Hrm – my doctor gave me a vaginal sonogram at 6 weeks so hopefully you should be just fine! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

