The Newlywed 10

I’m actually looking forward to this “Newlywed 10” my last issue of Modern Bride talked about. It’s almost three months since my wedding and the scale still lingers somewhere around 112 lbs, which at 5’7, ” according to this chart, makes me “underweight.”

I ignored Dr. S at my pap smear last year when he uttered “starvation mode,” but after our miscarriage, I wonder if fat (or lack thereof), of all things, somehow betrayed me.

I’m putting the rest of my eggs (pun intended) in the University of South Carolina study basket that says “ninety percent of underweight women who had previously been unable to conceive managed to become pregnant when they reached their ideal weight,” even though conception itself was not the issue. I’ll take hope, and ten more pounds, wherever I can get them.

1 Comment

  1. Kate said,

    Friday, June 6, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Good luck, and take care. I just read your last wedding post, and shed a little tear for you. Like the rest of the internets I felt like I knew you and knew your wedding, and you were definitely a bride who felt a little like me.


Leave a Reply

