Hatin’ on Latex

Oh the irony.  Having to use condoms when the point is trying to conceive.  But there it is.  We’ve been told to wait at least one cycle before giving it the “good old college try” again and just because you’ve had a miscarriage doesn’t mean your ovaries have quit the business, albeit their timing is a bit askew.  No good going out and confusing them with daily hormones, though bless the pill (you served me well).  So what are you left with?  Latex as the last line of defense.  (That or abstinence.  Go ahead you gluttons for punishment).

Now don’t get me wrong.  I’m glad someone somewhere in the annals of time found a way to turn milkweed into rubber.  And that someone else thought hey!, put this rubber on your penis, keep disease at bay!  But if I’m honest, and allowed to sound like an 8 year old talking about kissing boys for just one second, I think they’re gross.  And really, having to use condoms?  With your own husband?  It’s just not right.

Colourful Candy Condoms

(Colorful picture just to liven things up via ppbaby888’s Flickr Photostream)

7 Comments

  1. Christine said,

    Tuesday, June 3, 2008 at 9:58 am

    I’m so sorry Lou. Hugs to you and Craige from the both of us!

  2. linda said,

    Tuesday, June 3, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Sorry to hear about the miscarriage. My first pregnancy was a miscarriage too. The obstretician said it was best to wait 3 months but after consulting the great and wise internet we decided to not wait at all. Had the miscarriage in week 7, probably if it had been after 3 months I would have waited a little while. Had one period and after that became pregnant.
    Good luck trying again!

  3. jennifer said,

    Tuesday, June 3, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    i can’t imagine how you must be feeling. come to kansas city and you can wii fit until your heart is content. deal?

  4. Mom Quixote said,

    Tuesday, June 3, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Oh Linda, two or three months sound like torture! I can barely wait one. I just can’t help but think that getting to it as soon as possible would be the best for my heart and mind.

    And Jennifer: you are too sweet. Can you imagine? We barely have room for a Fit board and we’re trying for a baby!!!

  5. Crys said,

    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Latex hater right here! Sounds like we’re in the same predicament. Ugh! One month to give it the old college try!

  6. Thursday, June 5, 2008 at 5:06 am

    See I was told to wait two months before trying again. I waited more than a year for my own reasons . But 2 months sounds reasonable. My midwife put it like this “Things are pretty screwy in there right now, and the more we know about your next conception ( When etc) the better chance we have at giving baby the best chance. Can be on top of it . We can’t know until your body heals and return to a semblance of normal. Made sense to me.

    I know, it’s hard to wait. But TRY to enjoy the condoms. ( maybe ribbed) LOL Red, white and Blue? LOL Sorry! Just kidding.

    But I think it’s prudent to wait a little while anyway.

  7. jennifer said,

    Thursday, June 5, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Babies are tiny and fit nicely into most situations — their gear however seems to take up a lot of space. I know it is trite to say that it will happen when it’s supposed to happen, but I do believe it. Hang in there, you can make it through.


Leave a Reply

