The Celebrity Baby Name Game

Jessica Alba

Stunning Jessica Alba and Cash Warren welcomed a baby girl into the world this past Saturday.  Her name?  Honor.  I heard Justin Timberlake on TV last night joke they’d name the brother Trust.

Now believe me, I’m the more adventurous namer of the two hopeful parents-to-be in this household.  I’m just not quite ready yet to name my child a number (Seven) or an instrument (Banjo).  It’s never crossed my mind, as it must have to some celebrity parent, to scope out the pantry for ideas — and thank goodness.  With what’s in our kitchen at the moment, we’d have Ketchup, Lollipop and Frito to choose from: nowhere near as healthy as an Apple.

But the way I see it, Hollywood’s just doing kids a favor.  At this point, what celebrity baby isn’t named Kal-El or Pilot?  In the posh LA school playgrounds, it won’t be them getting their butts kicked.  Feel sorry for Jacob, Michael and Emily.  Their parents did a number on them.

7 Comments

  1. Christine said,

    Tuesday, June 10, 2008 at 9:14 am

    LOL I always preferred the name Soda myself!

  2. Leah said,

    Tuesday, June 10, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I just dont know what to make of all these random names they come up with. Dont get me wrong I went to school with some crazy named children. Recently I saw a child her name was ‘2 Nisha. All I can say is wow!

  3. Salty said,

    Tuesday, June 10, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Ah yes. Names are important! Think of the future!! I love the name Virginia, but alas the nicknames are too cruel. It’s hard to walk the line between unique and utterly crazy. And the worst is when you think you’re unique but you actually picked the next Emma or Aiden or whatever. This naming business is tough!

    I thought you might like to read my super-secret blog I kept while trying to get pregnant and the early weeks of pregnancy. I too felt like a baby-making obsessed freak and I didn’t have the guts to let my feelings out publicly like you. But now that some time has passed I would like to share. I hope it helps! http://littlesalty.blogspot.com/

  4. jennifer said,

    Wednesday, June 11, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Your blog name is great. I can relate to your posts – I also went through numerous trials in the attempt to get and stay pregnant – it all worked out and I have three sons 11, 14, and 17. Yes, as Salty says, names are important. You have to consider google as well. If your last name is common, definitely pick an obscure first name – or you’ll never be googleable. Our boys are happy to be the only Hugh and Malcolm in their school (our first, Ian, is not the only kid with that name but he’s OK with that).

  5. becoming-mom said,

    Wednesday, June 11, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Hey, I was Dulcinea in our high school production of Man of La Mancha! I also love Manchego cheese.
    😉

    When I was young, my name Ariana we really quite rare.. most people had never heard of it (remember I’m 34 so this is a while ago!) and I used to BEG my parents to please change my name to Mary or Cathy. Actually, they did let me change my name when I was 13.. see my parents were huge hippies and my full given name at birth was Ariana Gabrilelle Sai Ram Daner and I made them take out the sai ram. Now I kind of regret it!

    I hope Jasper doesn’t get called Casper the friendly ghost too much..particularly if he ends up with my paler than pale skin!

  6. Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 10:40 am

    My fiancé and I talk about this a lot (ok, it’s mostly me…) – how to walk the line between something boring and common and something just too crazy… it’s a difficult one but with nine months or more thought, I’m sure it’s possible to settle on something you both love. (I hope so anyway!)

  7. Baby Names said,

    Friday, June 13, 2008 at 2:11 am

    Nice Post


Leave a Reply

