The Day the Circus Left Town

So while we’re on the subject of not putting hamburger in our mouths…

The other elephant in the room? The circus.

(Image via flickr: click image for more info)

I’m talking old-fashioned circus fare, what with a hundred clowns climbing out of a Volkswagen and, less funny, elephants on parade. Now I’ll admit to, in the past, having put some dollars in the Ringling Brothers’ pockets. I took my younger siblings to the circus once. I’ve visited the Ringling museum in Sarasota. I live in Florida after all. Museum options are limited. And truth be told, I enjoyed both.

But the more I talk to Craig about it, and the more I read, the more I learn the circus just ain’t cool.  I guess it’s like what I’ve heard Oprah say: “when you know better, you do better.”

Reading about how circuses keep elephants in chains for up to 20 hours a day has made so uncomfortable, I can’t even bring myself to love this otherwise adorable nursery bedding.  Because that’s a tent, right?  And I don’t think you find those in an elephant’s natural habitat.  I can’t imagine the balloons are good for them either. 

Popular family entertainment: it’s a landmine. Forget zoos. Or movies with chimps. Even Cirque du Soleil is questionable now, PETA tells me.  But I’d like to raise an empathetic caring child who lives a conscious life .  That means I have to, too.

So I’ll start with this PETA petition.  Read all about it:

 

3 Comments

  1. Salty said,

    Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 7:28 am

    We call our baby peanut now and my sister is going to plan a circus themed shower in honor of peanut. While I love the theme as it offers some serious opportunities for some cute cute crafts, I know what you mean. I love animals and I can’t stand the thought of hurting them for entertainment. Think about it: gigantic (and smart!) elephants in train cars traveling all over the country during the hot summer months. Can’t be good! Thanks for the link!

  2. Mom Quixote said,

    Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Oy Salty! That theme sounds so darn precious…it’s all so complicated, isn’t it?

  3. Christine said,

    Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 9:09 am

    I’ve alway hated the circus, even as a kid. I never like seeing these animals with these costumes walking around in circles and getting wipped to do tricks. Thanks for the petition, I signed it right away!


Leave a Reply

