What Ails Me

My head is not my friend. My nose is not my friend. They work alone and more often in tandem, wreaking havoc with monster migraines and stuffy sinuses.  Bitches.

Aleve and Imitrex have been my saviors, but since it’s time to conceive, I must bid them adieu.  Cry.  (The Topomax I took to control the migraines?  I gave it the boot months ago.  Not sure it was doing much anyway, other than contributing to ten pounds of weight loss.  Thanks a lot).

So I guess I’m only left with “natural remedies.”  This week, I’m giving a neti pot a try.  Because there’s nothing more natural than pouring salt and water in one nostril and watching it come out the other.

Neti Pot

I don’t know that I’m ready to give it a whole-hearted seal of approval, but I’ll admit I felt my nasal passages open a bit after yesterday’s go. (And any little relief is welcomed.  My left nostril was so clogged, I poured forever before any water could even break through.  Yeah, that bad).  Of course, the whole thing also felt super F U N K Y, so it’s touch and go for now. But hey, if it’s the only thing I’ve got, I’ll give it a whirl.

I could have sworn that those few weeks I was pregnant, I felt better, as far as head and nose go.  A girl can dream.  If so, the cure to my pains may just be nine pregger months.  Well, except for the nausea, the constant peeing, feeling hot all the time,….

3 Comments

  1. Erin said,

    Thursday, June 26, 2008 at 11:04 am

    give it time– i use a neti pot twice a day b/c i have some major nose issues, and it is a wondrous thing… the more you use it, the better you feel. 🙂 try pouring into the offending closed nostril first– that sometimes helps. Sometimes the whole thing still kind of grosses me out, but hey– it works, so who am i to argue?

    on a less gross, but still bodily-oriented note: have a fabulous time conceiving! 🙂

  2. May said,

    Thursday, June 26, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Ohhh well then here is something else to look forward to if you already have stuffy sinuses… in my 6th week, I thought I had gotten a cold- but my nose wasn’t runny and I didn’t have a sore throat or anything… My nose was just stuffy, but I could never expel anything from it. I went to the doctor to see if there was anything I could do– naturally of course, and I found out that I had Rhinitis of Pregnancy [http://www.babycenter.com/0_stuffy-nose-during-pregnancy_1076.bc]. It lasted for about 3wks and the only I could do was the saline wash, which didn’t really help. Good luck with your situation, I do hope that pregnancy will be your cure. =)

  3. Leah said,

    Thursday, June 26, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Uh I think you are a brave woman. I really dont know if I could do this to myself. HA! But hey if it works and helps then I say go for it!


Leave a Reply

