Knitting Fools

One knitting lesson in, we’re hardly at the afghan stage, but we now know a little something of needles, slip knots and sling shot casting: how about that?!

We also know there’s baby yarn and sport yarn, bulky and chunky, but oh look how Craig admires the worsted!

I think Craig would have liked a bevy of old biddies ’round to admire his work, but he had to make do with just me and our instructor, the lovely owner of A Stitcher’s Haven.

 For the record, Craig is a much better knitter than I am.  I made do… 

…but Craig’s the one with the mechanical mind, which apparently made our instructor quite excited. After all, as our book begins, knitting was once the occupation of “shepherds,” “sailors,” “apprentices,” and “royal knitters.”  Plus, Craig’s an overachiever.  I cast on 20 stitches: Craig casts on 40.  Ah, men.

Watch my husband become a knitting fool in no time, I just know it, while I just enjoy having something to do for the moment, a past-time keeping my mind off the stick I’m dying to pee on to see what’s what…

6 Comments

  1. Christine said,

    Tuesday, July 15, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Your husband is so funny! LOL

  2. Michele said,

    Tuesday, July 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    How cool, I can just picture your hubby knitting itty, bitty, booties.

  3. ellie said,

    Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 4:51 am

    I cannot believe you convinced your husband to knit with you. You were already my hero for other reasons. Now you’re my superhero.

    Seriously, though. How freakin’ awesome. ***crossing my fingers for stick positivity***

  4. Donna said,

    Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 6:48 am

    How cute! Craig looks enamoured with the yarn 🙂

  5. Lucy said,

    Saturday, July 26, 2008 at 10:45 am

    You know how everyone says knitting is easy? Big fat liars, all. It’s so freakin’ hard! I’ve been knitting for about two years now and it took me a solid year before I got even halfway decent. The good news is that once you’re halfway decent, you get pretty good very quickly thereafter. So hang in there and just keep knitting!

  6. Mom Quixote said,

    Saturday, July 26, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Oh you are so right Lucy! I was not prepared for how complicated it is. It really is an art form. I don’t really feel like we’re ready for any kind of real project, not anytime soon!


Leave a Reply

