Spanish Lesson

(Gracias for the congrats and mirth in response to our good news dear readers!  You bring me such joy.  Here’s hoping I bring you some right back) 🙂

One running joke in our house is that adding “-o” to any word lets any red blooded American like my husband easily speak my native tongue. This is the way in the movies.  That, of course, and screaming.

I find the effect more amusing in the way it makes everything sound so pronounced.  As such, the most-oft used foreign words ’round these parts this week would be gas-o and bloat-o because, no joke, this “belly” at just over 4 weeks is something out of this world indeed:

I have no “before” picture to show, but let me swear to you: that wasn’t there before.

A better joke now is how naive I seem to be about what pregnancy does to the human body, in particular what it’s doing to mine.  Honestly, no one tells you about — well, let’s call it what it is — the farting.  The one or two lines in the books mentioning flatulence don’t really do it justice, do they?  ‘Cause I’m talking about better let one go or writhe miserably in pain.  This spells the end of evening cereal bowls for me. 

And well, I was prepared for a belly at, oh, 12+ weeks.  But this is an I-swallowed-an-alien gut by all accounts already. 

Sigh.  Lucky girls talking about symptoms not starting ’til 6 weeks.  6 weeks my ass-o. 

15 Comments

  1. Salty said,

    Monday, July 21, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Just wait for the constipation 🙂

    I think it must be a skinny girl thing to show really early. I could feel weird tightness in my belly button several days before I even tested. Other people I know didn’t even know they were pregnant until 8+ weeks! It’s hard for me to believe them after my experience. Iit’s hard to tell if the early showing is as much gas and bloating as it is uterus growing. I remember feeling like the baby was building a house inside my uterus around 4.5 weeks. Stuff felt like it was shifting and moving mostly upwards, but side to side too.

    Ahh yes, those first couple of weeks of knowing, before the constant nausea and the overwhelming exhaustion, are so nice. The yuckier symptoms started for me at 6 weeks on the nose. Those earlier symptoms are the nice ones 🙂 Hopefully you weather those second 6 or so weeks better than I did!!

  2. Donna said,

    Monday, July 21, 2008 at 8:48 am

    You know…my doctor explained that I needed to gain weight, too, so that was supposed to explain my rapid weight gain and constant bloated feeling.

    I may only be 9.5 weeks pregnant but according to some friends, I already looked like I’m 4 months by the way that I’m showing. I’ve gotten so many questions at work that I may have to confess as soon as I hit the first trimester mark!

  3. Crys said,

    Monday, July 21, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Oh congrats!! I know I’m late but so happy for you!

  4. May said,

    Monday, July 21, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Ah yes the first trimester bloat– I always felt so bloated and tired and irritated that I thought everyday that I was on my way to getting my period… Don’t worry it won’t last long, and hopefully your morning sickness won’t be so bad. I only had one bout that I really had to let it out but otherwise it was bearable. The exhaustion though, I had to nap for a couple of hours after putting in 8hrs of work/day… but it was good reason to “slack” a little at home and not have to do anything at home =)

    It is a magical time no matter what– gas and bloating and all, just knowing there’s life growing inside you is all worth it!

  5. Christine said,

    Monday, July 21, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Awww! You look great!

  6. Beanie said,

    Monday, July 21, 2008 at 11:37 am

    So sorry to be so late but congrats!!!

    The farting is not so bad lol, just wait ’til you hit the nausea, constant exhaustion, & back aches. But it is so worth it :p

  7. Sarah T. said,

    Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 7:10 am

    I’m a little late on this, but Congrats! I’m so excited for you and Craig. I followed you over from WB and I’ve loved reading your site. I went through a miscarriage about the same time you did and struggled with how to convey my feelings to my husband. You’ve been so strong throughout the journey and I’m so glad to hear that you are expecting! Congrats!

  8. ariana said,

    Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I was totally shocked at how early my tummy began.. skinny girls see it sooner I’m afraid! Don’t stress too much about the stretch marks, there’s not too much you can do about those b/c its about 100% genetics I’m told!

    Anyway, congrats again 🙂

  9. mandoo said,

    Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Congrats! I followed you over from WB too and can’t wait to continue reading your adventures.

  10. Erin said,

    Friday, July 25, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    and just wait till you experience the: constipation, diarrhea, heartburn, ligament pain, and being so hungry and so sick at the same time that all you can do is cry. 🙂 …. But the good news I have is that most of those went away for me around week 18.

  11. Mom Quixote said,

    Friday, July 25, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    OMG Erin, it’s already so bad, I can’t imagine in a couple/few more weeks this getting worse. I better gear up for it! The constipation is already out of control, and the ligament pain has me all limpy. Only 13 weeks for relief then, lol.

  12. Friday, July 25, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Ha ha I look like that if I eat oats… now if I’m ever keeping quiet about a pregnancy I’ll blame it on flapjack 🙂

  13. Tara said,

    Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Oh my goodness, how did I miss the news of your blog when you left WB? (Apparently, I’m the only one to have missed it.) SO excited for your news, especially as I am 7 weeks along myself! It will be wonderful to have someone traveling the same journey at the same time….

    To wit: I’m glad I’m not the only one with that stomach! It’s depressing when it’s big enough that you can’t fit into any pants, but still so small that it couldn’t be called a “baby bump” in any stretch of the word. (Gas bump?) At this point I just look … fat.

  14. Mom Quixote said,

    Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Tara, I can’t believe you’re 7 weeks along! Woot!

    As to the stomach, I agree — so depressing! No one will look at it and say, “oh how cute, a pregnant woman”. It’s mostly Just a gas gut after all, lol.

  15. Jennifer said,

    Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Oh, my goodness. I haven’t checked in on you in awhile. Congrat! I am so very happy for you.


Leave a Reply

